Gelli play with distress inks

I was going to be really good this week and get all caught up with work so I could have some time to craft this week end. This lasted until Monday afternoon by which time I had got so fed up of picking up a job to finish only to find paperwork missing or queries no one had got back to me about that I called it a day. Lisa had sent me a link via face book to  watch a you tube video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1pHt03H_Y4s  by Tracey from Lavinia Stamps .

Well that was it, the gelli plate had to come, I had to have a go. Just a couple of minor set backs – no Adirondack ink pads, no Versa fine ink pads and no Lavinia zentangle stamps, Not a problem I have a  few of the Distress inks so I would just use them instead, ( I don’t recommend metallic pigment inks though, yes I had to try didn’t I)  My daughter, Jenna is addicted to zentangle so I drew a couple of toadstool shapes to use as masks and just played with the inks. The results weren’t quite as vibrant or as clear as Tracey’s but I think the distress inks because they are quite a wet ink give their own effect which I quite liked. As you can see  the masks have left nice white shapes when the prints were taken

gelli backgrounds 2 gelli backgrounds 3 gelli backgrounds

I then gave them to Jenna to work her magic, I think we work rather well together

gelli zentangle 3

I felt a lot better after that, can’t think of a better way to get over a bad day at the office, lol.

3 thoughts on “Gelli play with distress inks

  1. Hi Lisa sent me this link, thank you Lisa. I love the results here. I haven’t used Distress inks yet because I thought they would stain the Gelli Plate which I don’t want to do. But actually it probably doesn’t does it? Sunshine Yellow is it???

    1. Hi Sam, thanks, I think it was more Wild Honey, but to be honest after watching Tracey’s video I just got some ink pads out and played. It certainly got rid of the frustrations of the day lol. And no the inks didn’t stain the gelli plate, most of the ink comes off with the print. I suppose its with them being water based (and distress inks are slower drying than other dye inks) It also means though that you are stamping onto wet ink too which blurs the images and colours a bit, interesting though 🙂

Comments are closed.