The Craft Room 27th June 2015 – Book folding craft room hop

You often read about “blog hops’ and may have even taken part in some, but this Saturday we did a craft room hop.

The whole of our craft group took to the road and went up the road to Skelton to see our good friends at AFE Creations. Julie Craig, the proprietor of AFE is actually a distant relation by marriage, but whom I only met for the first time last November at my Dad’s 80th birthday. Of course when we found out we both loved crafting and ran craft groups I don’t think I need to say any more than we have kept in touch ever since. Julie and some of her ladies have been through a couple of times to join our crafty afties and it was when Julie came through to join us for a Sheena faux leather session a few weeks ago, bringing with her a couple of her book folding samples that set this motion.

The samples looked amazing and we all wanted to try it so it was decided that Julie would put on a workshop for all of us at her new  fabulous craft “room” (warehouse) which is amazing.  So envious of her work space. and stash. My group now agree with me that I only have a small crafty stash, lol. I would love to show you Julie’s craft space but we were all having such a good time that I (and everyone else) forgot to take any photos ???.

Julie provided all the materials we needed and spoilt us completely with a fabulous afternoon tea. The ladies all picked up the technique quickly as once you know what to do it is quite easy and I had a lovely relaxing afternoon.

This was the pattern ( a Debbi Moore pattern)  Julie gave us all to do

20150628_130144

Having someone else at the helm does make a nice change lol, although some of the ladies from Julie’s craft group (who had come along to give Julie a hand, thank you, ladies) took an interest in the paper roses and butterflies that I had brought along to decorate my book so while Julie showed my ladies how to book fold  I was showing hers  how these were done. The paper rose is the one from Tim Holtz blog and the butterfly is a simple origami fold which I have promised to do a step by step for, here is the link

I have to own up to the fact that I did have play before today, it did just start out as a little research to find out what it was all about. But then I came across a pattern (which I think was from Crafts-u-print) and just had to have a little go.

My first attempt using a pattern from wwwcraftsuprint.com. Reminded me of out cat Nell who love to play with butterflies,

 

and then another (pattern from Etsy)20150628_130224

and then it was a friends birthday (Pattern from Debbi Moore)

20150628_130321

I am not hooked honest, lol

A BIG thank you to Julie of AFE Creations ( and helpers)  for putting on a fantastic afternoon workshop from all of my group totally  enjoyed themselves and have now joined me in my new addiction, thanks Julie Xxx

Watch this space lol.

1 Comment

  1. Lisa MacGregor

    Fantastic afternoon, lovely ladies, love Julie’s crafty warehouse, amazing, x

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

