Whoo’s the Dad

There was no crafty afty today as my daughter had asked if I would drive her though to Manchester. Amongst other things (like the York races) it is the Northern Athletic Championships this weekend and Jenna was competing in the Hammer( thats the event with a 4kg metal ball on the end of a long wire that they swing round their head  and then let go). The women’s hammer also just happened to be the first event which meant a very early start as she had to be there at least an hour before the event which was at 10.30am. 7am saw us off on a very wet drive through to Manchester and my question- “do you think they will cancel it?” was met with a very emphatic no. Oh well, its not very often I get to see her compete these days and by the time we arrived it had dried up a bit, sort of. It was good to see the other girls (women) competing well too.

We will be finishing our altered bottles next week now so I will do a show and tell post next week. Meanwhile some new stamps from Clarity Stamps arrived on my doormat this week, as soon as I saw these on Barbara’s show last weekend I just knew they would be perfect for my Father’s Day card.

2015-06-11 17.26.28

Aren’t they gorgeous. There are three of us kids (even if we are all over 50 now  hehe) but he is still the “DAD” (now 80), so you can see why I just had to use these stamps. They were stamped onto craft card in archival and coloured with some Spectrum Noir pencils.

2015-06-11 17.26.06

Brushos with a spritzer for the background and yes that is the Clarity branch stamp on the left, but it just didn’t stand out enough so I re stamped it onto some spare card and decoupaged it instead.

Then  I realised that I carried on just using  Clarity Stamps I would be able to enter this months Challenge as the theme is Boys,Boys,boys. I do not know where the time has gone this year, I think the last Clarity Challenge I entered was January and now its June.

The Clarity Challenge offers a random prize of £50 voucher too so it is worth giving it a go and entering too. for more information, rules and inspiration from the fab design team, please follow the link to the challenge blog here.

2015-06-11 18.36.35

Out came the alphabet set for the sentiment. It took me a couple of attempts to get it something like straight (without using the boxes) but I  do love how the card has turned out and no last minute rush this year either. lol.

Over at The Craft Barn, their weekly challenge this week is “for the man in your life” so if it is okay I would also like to enter my card into their challenge too. I have never done this before – entered more than one challenge-

Both Clarity Stamp and The Craft Barn have open days this week end (I told you there was a lot going on) and I hope you have both had a brilliant time xx

18 Comments

  1. Julie Dunn

    So like your card these owls are magnificent I want them myself and the way you have done the background just works good luck clarity challenge

  2. Shelagh Metselaar

    A superb composition, giving the new owl stamps pride of place! Have you been watching ‘Springwatch’ per chance? Wishing you success in this month’s Clarity Challenge. ;~}

    • Spring watch has been quite inspirational lol

  3. Carol

    I love the brusho background for this card and your choice of stamps. Thank you for entering the challenge and the best of luck. Xx

  4. Lisa MacGregor

    Fantastic Julie, made me giggle. Love the new owl stamps and the Brushos background looks perfect, as you know I’m obsessed with backgrounds x

  5. Kaybee

    I saw those owl stamps – need to own them too! Fab card, love the tag line!

  6. Craftyfield

    Never seen the owls before, they are very distinctive. Great card design and sentiment too .

  7. Lovely card Julie. I love your Brushos’ background and the way you’ve coloured your owls. I’m sure your Dad will love it too. Thanks for entering the Clarity Challenge this month. Good luck! x

  8. Barbara Lancaster

    Fantastic card Julie; the stamps, the background, the colours, and a fun sentiment. I love it all. Thanks for entering the Clarity challenge, and good luck. Xxx

  9. Carole

    Brilliant card Julie – hope your Dad’s impressed with your special creation for him – I’m sure he’ll love it!
    Thanks for sharing you card and good luck in the challenge. Carole xxx

  10. Wow, wow, wow, this is amazing!! Love it! Thank you for joining in The Craft Barn Challenge.
    Jane x

  11. Fukien, this card is fantastic and full of great techniques. Well done I’m sure your Dad will love it.
    Good luck in the Claritystamp challenge xx
    Hugs
    Amanda

    • I don’t know what Fukien means! Hope it’s nothing bad, it’s supposed to say Julie! Lol

      Stupid automatical autocorrect x

      • I did wonder LOl, I have the same problem with the autocorrect. Thank you for your lovely comment x

  12. Wow. What a fabulous design. Just perfect for your dad. Your background is really lovely and your owls look right at home. Wishing you the best of luck in the Claritystamp Challenge and thank you for sharing this card with us. X

  13. Lesley Walden

    A wonderful card Julie. The background is superb and a wonderful foil for the owl stamps. Good luck in the Claritystamp challenge x

  14. A great background for your lovely new stamps. A perfect card for Father’s Day.

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

