The Craft Barn’s 2015 Calendar Challenge – June

The Craft Barn’s Calender Challenge theme for June is Lavender and Dragonflies

Full details of the challenge including rules of entry etc can be found on The Craft Barn’s new blog site thecraftbarnblog.blogspot.co.uk

When I saw the prompts for this month’s challenge i was itching to get started and had lots of ideas I wanted to try.

In our Saturday craft group session we have been altering bottles and I had ordered some chalk paint samples for the group to use  off ebay as I really  did not want to let them loose with my Paper Artsy paints. There is some craft stash that I am not yet willing to share lol. anyway this is what has arrived

2015-06-05 17.01.04

20 little 30g pots which worked out at 50p each and a gorgeous selection of colours. So I think my Paper Artsy paints will be safe and there just happened to be a lavender one in there too.

I wanted my dragonflies to have a gossamer look and thought I would try embossing with clear embossing powder on  heat resistant acetate and then rubbing with gilding wax as I did last month on my flowers.

2015-06-05 17.00.14

It seems gives a less heavy look than using gold embossing powder. Now lets just try a little colour on the back

2015-06-04 19.04.03

I used Silkies but I think alcohol inks/pens will work just as well.

Now all I have to do is the background.

2015-06-05 16.59.57

 

Just wanted a simple mono background using the lavender chalk paint and stencils to showcase my dragonflies. Sorry picture not brilliant, but if you click on it to enlarge you can see it a bit better.

I have a new phone on its way and it is supposed to have a a really good camera on it so hopefully….. there again a bad workman always blames his tools lol.

Thank you for visiting and for all the lovely comments I have received. I do try and visit everyone too though I still have to master Flicker.

 

 

13 Comments

  1. Lisa

    Wow this is a stunning design, those chalk paints look fantastic, really impressed with your design, that clarity stencil is on my wishlist 😊 xx

  2. Nice dragonfly picture. The various purple tones give a dramatic affect.

  3. This is beautiful. The effect you have created with the dragonflies is so ethereal and realistic. I love the background too.

  4. Great background and beautiful dragonflies! xx

  5. Kaybee

    Beautiful – those dragonflies are about to fly off the page!

  6. Craftyfield

    The Dragonflies are lovely and the soft stencilled background is beautiful too.

  7. Love the background and great technique for the dragonfly – great page!

  8. A beautiful calendar page. I love the depth you have achieved in the background.

  9. I love the background and the beautiful dragonflies on your lovely calendar page.
    xxx Hazel.

  10. what a great deal you had on all that paint. The way you made that dragonfly is outstanding and love the subtle lavender background, just all works perfect.

  11. So wonderful, a beautiful piece of art.

  12. twinkletoes2day

    What a gorgeous page! The background is so wonderful and your dragonflies are perfect; just perfect. ❤ them :o))

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

