The Craft Barn’s 2015 Calendar Challenge

The Craft Barn have a new challenge for 2015. “The Craft barn 2015 Calendar Challenge” This is a monthly challenge (think there was a clue in the title, lol) where 2 word prompts are given at the beginning of the of each month and by the end of the year hopefully we will have a full Calendar of art work all ready for 2016.

Full details of the challenge including rules of entry etc can be found on The Craft Barn’s new blog site thecraftbarnblog.blogspot.co.uk

I missed the January challenge deadline due to that four letter word beginning with W—- but I was determined to complete it. Can’t have a calendar without January can you?

In my stash I had found some 8″ x  8″ chipboard boards and decided that these would be ideal for my calendar pieces. I have not quite decided how it will all fit together yet, still playing around with ideas at the moment.

So, The January prompts were Aqua and snowflakes

IMAG1314

For the background I thickly painted white gesso through a snowflake stencil randomly  to form a  kind of resist, then when dry painted over with an Aqua colour chalk paint. Sanded back a little when dry to bring out the snowflakes more and then stamped the word January randomly over the background.

To finish I dragged some white gloss texture paste through a couple of tree stencils and scrapped some along the bottom too. While still wet I sprinkled over some white snow stuff I found in the cupboard and some ice crystals. Finally just added  few die cut snowflakes to finish

IMAG1365

February’s prompts are Red and Hearts,

I am really the romantic type , so this could be why this seemed to turn more gothic, hmm

To start I thought I would see if a favourite gelli technique would work on gesso and yes it did

2015-02-12 19.37.42

The board was given a coat of white gesso and left to dry. then painted a thick coat of pearlescent red acrylic paint over the top . Whilst  wet I took a rose stamp and as I stamped, twisted the stamp and carried on until stamped all over.

2015-02-12 19.41.32

This is the stamp I used, think it is a Clarity NSC stamp from last year, but any similar stamp with clear lines should work, just have a play. I love this effect and it works really well on the gelli plate too.

Again once dry I over stamped this time with February in black. this is where the gothic look started to take over lol.

IMAG1364

Cut some TM Bigz die cuts – the ornate frame, hinges and keyhole, found some plaster of paris embellishments (made a batch a while ago) including hearts and doves and stuck some to the frame, painted everything with black gesso, and touched up with silver gilding wax when dry. Then all that was left to  do was stick them onto my background.

IMAG1371

There will be a picture going into the frame, But it is a special one of my Grandparents wedding that I want to put there and I will not be able to sort before the challenge deadline which I don’t want to miss again. So hence the empty frame.

Thoroughly enjoying this so far as it is giving me a chance to play with something different

Thank you for reading.

 

9 Comments

  1. twinkletoes2day

    Two very gorgeous pages Julie and a fab size too, 8 x 8, wow. I’m impressed with how you did februarys roses, it’s very effective 😀 And the lovely frame for your grandparents photo is perfect 🙂 Thanks for your visit to my post, I’m glad you like the page. I can’t take credit for the dates I’m afraid it was ready printed with those, I merely added the abbreviated days, lol 😀
    Have a great weekend ((hugs)) 😀 xo

  2. lisa

    Wow Julie, I loved January but February is amazing! I thought the background before looked fantastic but how you altered the embellishments really made a difference, love the goth feel x

  3. Craftyfield

    Well I never… your background technique is AWESOME, itching to try it now…Gothic or not it all looks good together, it’s a beautiful page.

  4. Kaybee

    Love both pages, but amazed by that stamped background for February – so I’ve pinned a picture to remind me to have a go!

  5. Two lovely pages, and I love the rose background on February’s one! xx

  6. thassos456 :)

    Beautiful roses background. Love the gothic look 🙂

  7. Two beautiful projects but those roses, wow…!! Thank you for joining the challenge!
    Jane x

  8. What a clever technique for the roses. One to try me thinks.

  9. Two lovely pages. The rose background is fabulous.

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

