Chocolate Baroque AYOS January show and tell

Have found a few minutes to spare so just thought I would post the results of our Saturday crafty afty.

We were a bit thin on the ground this week due to the lurgy and work commitments which was a shame as we had a lovely afternoon playing with the January AYOS (A year of Stamping) stamp from Chocolate Baroque.

I will explain Briefly

Chocolate Baroque have launched “A Year Of Stamping” project club. Each month there is a special project stamp (which comes pre mounted), you also get  exclusive access to an online project magazine for that stamp full of inspiration, step by steps etc. When you purchase your first AYOS stamp you will also get an invite to join  their project facebook group. There is no obligation to purchase every month so if you like a stamp you buy it (special prices too) or dont’ if not. To find out more  please just click on the link above.

Here are the January stamps, one LARGE (5.5″sq) and one small (3.5″ sq)

2015-02-06 17.01.222015-02-06 17.00.38

Sorry the light was not brilliant, but as you will see from our little play with them  they are lovely to work with.

I cannot believe that I have had these stamps a week now and have not had time to play so before the session started I was determined to have a little play, firstly just stamping them out just to see how they stamped etc.  They come pre mounted  are deeply etched and stamp really well. But then they are Chocolate Baroque!

Then I had a little rummage in my paper stash and found a couple of shaving foam backgrounds so tried stamping onto one of them with black archival ink using the small stamp.

2015-02-07 17.07.42

Just used a spectrum Noir pencil to colour the hill,  matted and layered onto second piece and job done.

At least I have a sample to show the group for inspiration now. lol.

Now for the BIG one

Lisa had arrived so we decided to have a go stamping onto coated card stock with the black archival ink pad again but this time heat embossing with clear embossing powder as well.

Then with Lisa using her TH mini round blender and me using my Brushes (The Clarity ones, sorry but I do like them) with distress ink, coloured and blended till we were happy with the results. Lisa also had to have a go at flicking water on hers too and I must say I loved the results and need to try in other colour combos.

2015-02-07 17.06.55Lisa’s finished piece

2015-02-07 17.06.35and mine

Margery, the only other lady who managed to make it this week was busy making a pop up card for a friend’s birthday and I will try get some pics for next time.

After they had gone home I had another play as I had had an idea I wanted to try….

Firstly I spread some grunge paste though a square stencil  onto a square of grunge board and left it to “skin” over (time for a glass of wine) This is when the paste has basically  formed a skin on top but is still soft underneath.

Then inked up the large stamp deciding what part of the image I wanted to try and capture and stamped into the grunge paste. If you time this right (managed it on the second attempt) you get the impression in the paste but no paste on the stamp.

Finally using dristress inks and brushes just swept the ink right across the board at an angle. The ink took to the paste more than the board and I loved the result – another one to try in different colour combos  I think.

2015-02-07 18.15.49

Now looking forward to the February AYOS stamp

3 Comments

  1. lisa

    Had a fab inky time yesterday thank you, really pleased with the end result. Love your second go with the grunge paste, looks amazing x

  2. They look amazing. Have fun with the AYOS.
    Flo x

  3. Jacky Allatt

    I visited here after Lisa posted on FB about your artwork with the Chocolate Baroque AYOS Jan stamp. I love the way you and Lisa have used these stamps. I bought the small stamp but have only used it once so might try your ideas, if I may. I met you at Eileen’s workshop in Cayton last September & tried to follow your blog on my Ipad but it was slow. However, I’ve just realised I can view your blog clearly on my phone so I won’t need to miss your posts from now on. Thanks for taking the time to write this blog.

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

