The Craft room 24 January 2015 – Spring fresh and simple again

Well I have managed to keep my resolution to blog in advance of  our craft sessions for the second post ( we shall see how long this lasts)

Have any of you  managed to sneak in a bit of crafty time? I am trying not to be such a workaholic this year by giving myself some playtime after work sessions, even if it it is just some handwriting practice for my journalling.  Yes, really enjoying the challenge of journalling especially now  that I am starting to understand what it is about. I have found a fab book on Amazon by Joanne Sharp called “The Art of Whimsical Lettering” A must have for beginners like me. Now armed with this book and with inspiration and support of Rae Aloha Dalal’s Facebook Group Journal heART15  I am thoroughly enjoying the learning process.

Ok back to the craftroom and I promised to show what the ladies managed to produce based on the prompts of Spring, clean and simple.

As well as the samples I had made I started a Springtime card board on my Pinterest so I could give them some more inspiration.

IMAG1294

Margery took  a card style idea I had pinned  and used a couple of Sheena Douglas stamps to make it her own. Using Perfect pearls in water to colour the blossom.Love  those baby birds.

IMAG1295

Lisa stamped and embossed what I think is an Imagination Crafts stamp (apologies if I have got this wrong)  and coloured with prefect pearls again mixed with water, then just simply matted and layered, lovely.

IMAG1297

Jenna had her first play with Brushos after seeing my daffodil card, but could not resist filling the white space with a zentangle inspired border. Her zentangle inspired artwork is amazing, hopefully she will be giving us another of her workshops in March.

please visit her blog to see her amazing work and all self taught too. Like mother like daughter lol.

Irene finished a beautifully simple topper using Chocolate Baroque’s snowdrop stamp but took it home to mount on a card and her second card is waiting to be finished this week so hopefully I will get photos this week of her work.

As Jackie and Diane missed the first session due to work commitments I thought we would carry on with the theme for a second session but give them some slightly different inspiration.

I got the idea for these cards after seeing Craftwork Cards on Create and Craft last week. there was one card in particular that really caught my eye and got me thinking.

IMAG1302IMAG1301

 

Believe it or not this started out as a gelli print I was not really happy with. Using Clarity Stamps petal stamp set I stamped the solid outline petal repeatedly over the gelli print in archival, doodled patterns on them (or I could have just used some of the other petal stamps in the set) and  cut them out. I then made some hot glue dots, sprinkled with glitter for the flower centres, draw on a flower stalk and added a sentiment.  The yellow matt card is also one of those colours that I thought I would never use but it was just the perfect colour for this.

These cards were so simple to make, you do not even need a petal stamp. You could easily make you own petal template and draw round it with a black Sharpie ( or other black pen) and use any of your background paper stash or just quickly ink one up with dye based inks. Make smaller petals and put 3 on one card, so many variations,  just have a play.

IMAG1305

IMAG1304

 

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. In The Craft Room 7th February 2015 – A Chocolate Baroque fix | Julie's Craft Room

    Leave a Reply

        Dreams Factory

    Handmade & DIY with chic touches

    Ina's Tangles

    Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

    Stephanie Weightman

    Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

    The Craft Barn

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    Visible Image

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    Oak House Studio

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    Make ART Challenge Blog

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    Finnabair

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    Astrid's Artistic Efforts

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    Eileen's Crafty Zone

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    Dye, Pigment & Paper

    Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

    Cards, Cats and Coffee

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    JR Crafts

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    PaperArtsy

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    Inkymits and Tasty Bits

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    Neelz Expressionz

    Whats happening in the craft room.

    Studio 490

    Whats happening in the craft room.

