My Art Journal Journey – First steps

Art Journalling is something I have been aware of for a while, but have not been brave enough to venture into, until now.

Last year while doing the Craft Barn Quotes and Lyrics fortnightly challenges, some of the regular participants produced some amazing journal pages, which really made me want to have a go, but just never really knew what to do or where to start.

Now thanks to Rae Aloha Dalal, who has set up a Facebook group called Journal heART 15, I, along with quite a few other people,  have now taken my first steps into Art Journalling, although it has taken a little getting used to I have now produced my first page.

Through the Facebook group and Rae’s blog www.fairefoxesblogspot,co,uk  Rae sets prompts and challenges to help us get started along with advice and techniques too. Then there are also all the members of the group (which is growing fast), which include both experienced journallers and complete novices like me, who can also chip in with their hints and tips, ask questions and upload and share their artwork.

I am not a big fan of Facebook and do not really know how to use it but this is different so maybe not only will I learn about art journalling but I may even get the hang of Facebook lol.

The Prompts and challenges for the first week included,  doing your first page for 2015, using just 4 colours on your page and learning a couple of techniques – the Bokeh technique and a version of the Northern lights technique.

So, page one – sprayed on some ink sprays and have added a little stencilling and now waiting to be finished. hmmm

To save a little time I thought I would have a go at the Bokah technique just using 4 colours. Liked how this turned out so much that I turned it into cards instead, ok still got my card making head on.

IMAG1286

IMAG1290Love my cards though.

Week 2, must try harder! This week we were introduced to the “bleeding tissue” technique, asked to “just draw/paint (no using stencils, stamps etc) do a 10min page challenge with just what you have to hand.

I can do this, first the “bleeding tissue” technique

IMAG1298

I had and underwater theme in my head when I started this though it changed slightly when I took off the  dried tissue.

IMAG1299So added in the challenge to “just draw” or in my case doodle IMAG1311

And yes, my first finished page. Ok not a masterpiece but its my artwork in my art journal and I am more than happy with it.

And its FUN!!!

Thanks Rae.

5 Comments

  1. Ooo… I like this idea. I might have to make this a regular part of our homeschooling week. Thanks for the idea!

  2. Lisa

    Love your first journal page Julie, love where you’ve taken it x

  3. Hi Julie, I’m just like you and have just taken my first steps into Art Journaling and found your post through WordPress. I’ll have to look into the bleeding tissue technique as I’d never seen it done before. Thanks for sharing your journey.

    • Thank you for taking the time to comment. did you read the bit about the face book group Rae Aloha Dalal has set up – JournalheaArt15. It is especially for people like us just getting into Art Journalling but also for experienced too so a good mix of questions hints tips prompts etc – worth a look if on Face book.

  4. Jacky Allatt

    Love the way you decided to finish this with the zentangles. It’s a great piece of artwork.

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

