Eileen Godwin’s Brusho Workshop show and tell – better late than never

As the group are still in the middle of making their perpetual calendars ( as per previous post) I thought I would finally show you what we got up to when Eileen Godwin came to Scarborough for a workshop last month.

Eileen is an amazingly talented lady, very down to earth and has a wicked sense of humour, which along with lovely group of ladies made for a fabulous crafty day.

This was a Brushos workshop and Eileen showed us all various different techniques using Brushos, some I had already tried and some were were new to me, but along with all the hints and tips Eileen also gave us, I now feel a lot more confident and want to explore Brushos further to see what else they can do.

Here are some of the toppers I created at the workshop using various techniques

IMAG1204

For this one Brushos were just sprinkled (sparingly) onto the card and spritzed with water. Stamped over the top, and then just to bring out the green a bit more I mixed a little leaf green Brusho with water on a tile, Eileen had provided us all with to use as palettes, and painted on with a brush.

IMAG1198

This one was just using the Brushos mixed with water as water colour paints. It was Eileen s tip about using the black Brusho as a shadow round the poppy that makes it pop.

IMAG1201

This is using the Brushos with ink/glimmer sprays and the cling film technique for the background

IMAG1199so is this one.

Now onto my favourite technique of the day and one I think I may becoming addicted too.

This is also the reason I have not posted this blog before, because once I had finished this topper I just knew that I was going to use it for my Mum’s birthday card and there were a few additional bits and pieces I had to get to finish it off. Eileen had also posted on her blog about Lavinia Stamps October blog challenge with the theme – Autumn colours so I will try and enter it in that too.

IMAG1192

The background was created using Brushos, water and a TH spritzer tool (without the pen)

Tim Holtz® Distress Marker Spritzer Tool

Stamped I think it is Lavinia Stamps “fairy pods” and coloured in using Brushos.and matted onto black card stock (thanks Eileen). To finish the card I have created a larger background to match the topper.

IMAG1194

painted a A4 piece of card with a Brusho  colour wash  in bands of colours across the card, then die cut the leaves (TH bigz dies) , embossed them (TH matching embossing folders) and finished off with a touch of gilding wax

IMAG1193

Lavinia poppy seed head stamps coloured with Brushos, cut out and glazed

IMAG1195

Ok now I’m hooked, It is also my sister in law’s birthday (50 shh) at the beginning of November so I had a really good excuse to have another play

IMAG1190This time with Heartfelt Creations Arianna Blooms flower dies

IMAG1189

Thanks again Eileen it was a lovely day and I have now moved onto  Christmas cards lol. Love the Brushos, they are so versatile

8 Comments

  1. Eileen, goddess of the brush’s I can see you’ve had fun and they are the perfect background to Lavinia stamps – well done they are really great! Many thanks for joining the Lavinia Stamps challenge and good luck!!! Melissa (DT)

  2. Jacky Allatt

    Lovely samples Julie. I especially like the first one. Have to agree it was a fantastic day and Eileen is very inspiring. Thanks for making those delicious cupcakes.

  3. All truly beautiful. I too love the first one – but also adore the bird, and love the blue poppy.

    But all really are show stoppers. Very well done, you clever thing!
    ~ Cobs. x

  4. zoeruss

    Thank you for joining in Lavinia Stamps Challenge, love your Autumnal themed card, good luck xx Zoe DT xx

  5. All fabulous cards but have to admit I am drawn to the ‘blown’ ones, a great technique for backgrounds. I am still thinking about Brushos!! x

  6. Lisa

    A fabulous day indeed ! Gorgeous results and love love love the last two cards x

  7. Arlene Valera

    Where can I purchase the fairy pod Lavinia stamp? I love it and would love to make the card. zophor@gmail.com

    • Thay are gorgeous aren’t they?. Their web site address is wwww.laviniastamps.com. It you love these wait till you see their new ones lol. Don’t spend too much xx

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

