The craftroom Summer Break – time to play

There has been no Craft room post for a couple of week due to many of the group being away or busy, so  for those that came it has just been a case of finishing off previous projects or doing a project of their own for up and coming birthdays etc .

Basically clearing the decks as Christmas projects will be starting in earnest from September ( I refuse to even think about it till then lol)

I even managed to take some time out for myself this last week too. September is going to be a very busy month  for me with 3 wedding  anniversaries, 2 21sts plus 3 more birthdays and  2 babies due  so I thought I had better try and get a head with the card making whilst I had the time.

First up is my nephew’s 21st, that will be  the last one  (until the next generation grow up)  –  all my nieces and nephews are  grown up now, with his girlfriend’s 21st following a day later.

What to do for a “man”s 21st?  Jenna is zentangling, my mother has done the box card, so how about a bit of mixed media?

IMAG1087I really did not know where I was going with this. Started with the Statue of Liberty  stencil from Clarity and some grunge paste. Inked over with distress inks, then remembered the city landmarks stamp which was from Unity Stamps( I think) so stamped that in Archival ink along the bottom. Used Clarity’s  letter stamps to make up the cities names and stamped them randomly onto another square of card. Made a tag and embossed with Union Jack embossing folder and then swiped DI ink pads across the surface. Decided I didn’t like the card plain white at the back so stamped the landmarks stamp in random rows across it. Some die cut numbers from a tonic set and plaster of paris embellishments painted with gilding wax to complete. The saying is one I found on the internet which I printed (remembering to reverse the image first) onto acetate.

IMAG1086Definitely happy with the way this has turned out, hope my nephew will like it too.

I obviously could not use this one for this month’s Clarity Challenge, apart from using a non Clarity stamp, the theme for August is Feminine. but I can try with my next card for his girlfriend’s 21st.

I have only met her on a couple of occasions so,  apart from being really nice, not too sure of her taste and style, so I thought I would play safe and go vintage.

It was also an opportunity for me to have a play with the stamp pad felt and make my own stamp pad  with the Distress re-inkers (Clarity have a really good deal on these on their web site) as per Maria Simms workshop  and Barbara’s blog step by step.

IMAG1079One ink pad

IMAG1078One rose bud stamp stamped out several times

IMAG1088Sorry this is the front of the card, but can you see the glazed oval I made from some of the left over card?IMAG1089

This is the inside

IMAG1092

The fan pieces were cut out using a template as a guide, embossed in an embossing folder and alternate ones also had a die cut out too. edges inked , a few pearls and the matching stencil on the base

IMAG1094

I think it has worked really well. Love the effect you get making your own custom ink pad  too.

It is very feminine and  I have only used Clarity stamps (ok, only used one stamp lol) this time so I am going to use this for my entry for the Clarity Challenge number 18. before I run out of time.

 

Thank you for reading my ramblings if you have got this far 🙂

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. A great card for your nephew, love all the elements you have used but bowled over with your make for the girlfriend’s card. Absolutely gorgeous and so feminine too, can’t see how she couldn’t like it! xx

  2. Lisa

    Both cards are absolutely amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

