The Craft Barn’s Q&L Challenge no 17 – Peaceful and/or Grace

The  Q & L challenge  no 17 is Peaceful and/or Grace. To find out more about this challenge or  would like to join in  here is the link to The Craft Barn’s Q&L Challenge blog.

This is  a first,  I have never managed to submit my entry on launch day before, though it could have something to do with the fact that technically I am on Holiday.

I say technically as I have not actually “gone on holiday”  just having a few days at home to unwind and relax and no having to think about w***  till Thursday, Bliss.

I decided to go with a song well known the world over for this challenge  – Amazing Grace

The words to this song/hymn were written by John Newton (Englishman) in 1772 . There was no music as such for the words until 1835 when they were put to a tune called ~”New Britain”.

John Newton wrote the lyrics after he had been ordained as a minister. Prior to that he had been the Captain of a slave ship. The story goes that he converted to Christianity after an encounter with God during a violent storm at sea.

It was this story that gave me the idea for my tag

 

IMAG1076

Just swooshed my tag though some Distress stains dabbed onto my glass mat, dried and distress ink around the edges. The waves and yes, they are supposed to be lightning on the left were with Spectrum Noir pencils. The ship was an image of a slave ship I found on the internet which I printed off and coloured. The writing sorry that is mine.

The full lyrics are as follows

Amazing grace! How sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me!

I once was lost, but now am found; was blind, but now I see

Twas grace that taught my heart to fear, and grace my fears relieved;

how precious did that grace appear the hour I first believed

Through many dangers, toils and snares, I have already come;

Tis grace hath brought me safe thus far, and grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promised good to me, his word my hope secures;

he will my shield and portion be, as long as life endures.

Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail, and mortal life shall cease,

I shall possess, within the veil, a life of joy and peace.

When we’ve been there ten thousand years, bright shining as the sun,

we’ve no less days to sing God’s praise than when we first begun.

 

 

Thank you  for taking the time to visit, and if you have got this far, read my post.

Now going to enjoy the rest of my “holiday”  🙂

18 Comments

  1. You are right. Same song, very different lyrics. After I saw your comment, I did a search for “amazing grace” and found the same information you gave. However, when I originally searched, I put in the words from the challenge and found both here:

    http://higherpraise.com/Lyrics4/AmazingGracePeacefulEasyFeeling.htm

    I was so pleased with myself I didn’t search any further. I am so glad you chose this song, and I’m going to amend my post to include the site I found mine on.

    I love your swooshes. They truly look like the ship is in a stormy sea. Beautiful tag and thanks for the information. In a way, I feel like I have egg on my face.

    • It is such an old song, that there will be many variations. The first set of lyrics I found had a different second verse. You were lucky enough to find a variation with both words of the challenge in it 🙂

  2. A beautiful tag Julie and captures the story behind the lyrics so well. Love the stormy sea and you can almost see that ship being tossed around 🙂

  3. Loving the movement on your Tag, such a rough sea with stunning skies which captures the lyric so well, it is an iconic song and you have captured it’s essence beautifully 🙂 xxx

  4. thassos456 :)

    What a fab tag, Love the ship and the stormy look of the background 🙂

  5. twinkletoes2day

    Excellent depiction. Your background is really cool! 😀

  6. Fiona Spain

    What a beautiful tag and interpretation of the hymn

  7. a really lovely tag, the waves are so realistic, well done and so quickly, I always need some time to soak up the words, search a suitable quote and figuring out how to visualize that quote.

  8. what a gorgeous tag! it depicts the song so well.

  9. Kaybee

    Stunning tag – can almost feel the movement of that ship!

  10. Scrapmate

    Lovely depiction of the song.

  11. A fantastic song. Also your tag looks great.

  12. Your tag is really beautiful and so perfect for those moving lyrics…
    I most always get teary eyed when I hear it sung.
    This is my first time playing along in the Q&L challenge.

  13. Craftyfield

    The wave and sky effect really works, it’s a lovely tag.

  14. Beautiful tag – love the stormy water and the sky!

  15. Beautiful tag, I love the background! Just right for the hymn! xx

  16. Lisa

    You never fail to amaze me, you’ve captured the sense of a storm at sea perfectly 🙂

  17. A beautiful interpretation of this hymn. The background and in particular the waves give the sense of the danger of the sea.

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

