The Craft Barn’s Q&L Challenge no 16 – Family and/or Thing

The  Q & L challenge  no 16 is family and/or thing. To find out more about this challenge or  would like to join in  here is the link to The Craft Barn’s Q&L Challenge blog.

Wow, Spoilt for choice  this time, so many quotes and song lyrics to choose from.

The quote I kept coming back to was one by Jesse Joseph who had this to say about family – ” Family is like music, some high notes, some low notes, but always a beautiful song”  I am not sure why I like it, I just do .

That’s my quote sorted now I just have to make the tag!

I have been playing with Brushos recently (cant stop playing with them, very addictive and you can use them in so many different ways, lots to learn) thanks to Eileen Godwin and her blog . They are such fun. I even let the Saturday craft group have a play last week. (You can see what we got up to on my previous post which also explains a little about them too)

This week I have been trying them with resist techniques and and this was the result of my first attempt with emboss resist using white embossing powder.

IMAG1065

I just love the vibrancy of the colours and was  determined that I was going to use this for my background, but how to get music into it as well? Then I remembered a recent Tim Holtz tag of 2014 where he had used embossed acetate.

So, a piece of some acetate packaging, run though embossing machine in embossing folder, paint the deboss side with white gesso, wipe off excess and voilà

IMAG1066

Now all I need to do is turn it over write on my quote and attach to my tag.

IMAG1067

Really like how this has turned out, hope you do too 🙂

18 Comments

  1. thassos 456 :)

    Stunning background and great idea with the acetate 🙂

  2. Beautiful background, fab embossed acetate and a great quote too 🙂 Found my quote/lyrics now to do something with ’em 😀 x

  3. I’ve never heard of a Brusho, but now I’m curious. I’ll check out your previous post as soon as I leave a comment here. I thought you did a very clever thing with the vellum and the embossing folder. Seems these folders must be good for many, many reasons and uses.

    I really liked the quote because I have a musician friend. He’s always comparing music to something: language, rhythm, love, etc. I’ll have to share that quote with him. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  4. Aw this is beautiful! I love the whole thing. Well done, you clever crafty fingered thing!

  5. Kaybee

    Not heard of Brusho before either, so I too will check it out! Love the colours, and the acetate overlay is fab.

  6. Scrapmate

    You’ve reminded me I have some brusho somewhere… I love the background you’ve made with it. This is a beautiful tag.

  7. I know you had to cover your background up to go with your quote but it looked stunning – such great colours against the white!

  8. What a fantastic background, need to look into those brushos and how cool is that acetate that went through your embossing machine.

  9. Shame you covered up that amazingly stunning background! Great way to use acetate and the final Tag is really beautiful 🙂 xxx

  10. Craftyfield

    Love the vibrant background but the acetate idea is great too, together they look fab and illustrate the quote well.

  11. So cool, that’s a great tag.

  12. Oh I DO like how it turned out. I like the quote too 😀

  13. Great idea – love the background!

  14. Great tag, I love your background! xx

  15. fiona spain

    This is great. Love the way you embossed the acete.

  16. Debbie

    Wow! I love how you combined that gorgeous background with the acetate. The quote is so true, too!

  17. Lisa

    Amazing Julie x

  18. I love the quote you chose and writing it on the music staves is such a clever idea.

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

