The Craft Barn’s Q&L Challenge no 15 – Mind and Ignorance

The  Q & L challenge  no 15 is mind and/or Ignorance. To find out more about this challenge or  would like to join in  here is the link to The Craft Barn’s Q&L Challenge blog.

“like the circle that you find in the windmills of your mind”

This song as been going “round” in my head for the last fortnight, ever since I saw the words for the latest challenge. and finally this afternoon I have managed to find the time to actually create my tag which was inspired by Kaybee’s awesome entry for the last challenge please click on link to her blog to view..

I love playing with alcohol inks and must get some Yupo paper to try them with. But for now I wondered if the technique would work with mirri card. which I have used before with alcohol inks and the felt pads.

So I just dropped a drop of the ink on the card and watched and wow, now a drop of blending solution in the middle of the ink, I am loving this, its such fun. Just keep adding a drop of ink then a drop of bending solution and watch it do its own thing. The mirri card reflects the colours  too.

IMAG1034

 

As you may have guessed I have Chosen the song “The Windmills of your mind ” composed by Michel Legrand , lyrics by Alan Bergman and Marilyn Bergman and originally sung by Noel Harrison for the film The Thomas Crown Affair. This song has been covered by many artists since including Sting, Alyson Moyet, Dusty Springfield to name but a few.

I am probably not the only one to have chosen it for the challenge either , but have not had chance to visit yet though will try tomorrow, so will find out then.

Just wanted to get my entry in before to late.

IMAG1040

It may be a tad bright or is it all in the mind, lol.

16 Comments

  1. I am definitely losing it, or in need of a holiday. In my last challenge post I mentioned that an eight day week would be good, This time I have rushed to get my tag done thinking it was the last day of the challenge, then when I go to the linky I find I have another week! So have now gained seven days – I wish – roll on end of August and some much needed time off. :-0
    Thank you for bearing with

  2. Well better to have a week in hand than be too late! I love the effect of this technique and am now going to have to see what Yupo paper is. I loved the original movie and also the Piers Brosnan remake.

  3. Craftyfield

    The colours are lovely, not too bright for the summer either! Kaybee is starting something… now I want to play too… The vellum pinwheels are a great finishing touch.

  4. thassos 456 :)

    Fab tag, love the alcohol ink backgrounds. I have to get my inks out again and give it a go as well 🙂

  5. Great effect with the alcohol inks and you’ve made a lovely colourful background!

  6. This is really wonderful Julie 😀 The colours are stunning and the pinwheels an excellent addition. 😉
    Many thanks for your comment on my blog post 😀

  7. Kaybee

    Love your take on the alcohol ink thing. If you get some Yupo paper (try Amazon), you will find it even more amazing. Rubbing alcohol is also a good alternative to the blending solution (and cheaper!). That song is now in my head too!

  8. Debbie

    It sounds like you had a lot of fun creating this, and the end result is just stunning! I love the bright colors!

  9. I, too, have had that song going round like circles in my mind 😀 So snap as I have also used it and, like you, thought time had run out for me before I had finished my piece! Think the hot weather has frazzled my brain. Love the effect of alcohol inks on mirror card, it makes a fantastic background and love your tag x

  10. I saw this technique on Kay’s blog after seeing it on BJ’s. I’ve never heard of Yupo paper, but I’ve used my AIs on the shiny side of freezer paper, which is very cheap. I am in awe of how you got that circle of words on your tag. It’s certainly lovely, and I have heard the song before, but don’t really know the lyrics. Glad you posted enough of them I can now look it up on the internet. Thanks for sharing this beauty and showing how you made your tag.

  11. Great colors and fabulous background.

  12. I also loved this technique, still on my tot try list. Fab background you created with it, love the vibrant purpely pink. How did you create your words in that circle?

    • Sorry, I was in such a rush to post my blog (thinking it was the last day for the challenge) that I forgot to mention that bit. I printed the words onto acetate using a computer program (My Craft Studio) and made an overlay for my tag as I didn’t want to cover the background up.

  13. fiona spain

    This a really good tag – and excellent quote.

  14. Great tag, and lyrics from one of my favourite songs! xx

  15. I love the serendipity nature of alcohol inks. Your tag is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

