In The craftroom 28th June 2014 – and Its my birthday

Yes, its my birthday and I’ll play if I want too, and play I certainly did!

 

It actually started on the Friday when Lisa and I set off to the village of Winterton (on yon side of the Humber bridge near Goole) where Jill had organized a days  workshop with the lovely Maria Simms from Clarity Stamps.

We even managed to arrive early, only going around one roundabout more than once and only  one detour because we thought we knew better than the sat nav. The main problem we had was actually  finding the venue, we had the post code and the Street name so it shouldn’t be that hard?  driving  down the street we  spotted a garage on the other side  so we  turned around and  Lisa got out to ask where the Old School Hall was. The man at the garage was very good, he came out to the car and pointed  ……… next door, and yes when we looked there was a sign on the building and also , when we got to the entrance there was even a sign saying “Clarity Workshop”  At least we were there lol.

There were about 20 of us altogether, including some ladies we had met just before Christmas at Craftique in Hessle on a “Hels Sheridan” workshop, for Maria to keep in check. Luckily she was more than capably looked  after, along with the rest of us, by the amazingly multi talented Heather.

Maria had 4 projects lined up for us to get though if time time allowed and I will show you what we got to do, though I won’t be giving any how to’s as these  are Maria’s workshop projects

For our first project we each had a petal from the  Clarity Filigraphy petal set and shown a pattern building technique with some “extreme” masking. I really enjoyed this one,  it has given me lots of ideas for some class projects for my own group and Yes I HAD to but the stamps too.

IMAG0970

For project 2 we got the chance learn the basics of using a brayer and/or Clarity’s new stencil brushes (which I have had my eye on for a while but not got yet so I decided to work on my very basic brayering skills)  along with some more Clarity stamps.

IMAG0974

Silly me forgot my glasses so had a slight problem seeing where to stamp the birds to get their feet in the right place which is why the bird on the left hasn’t quite reached the feeder yet. Also got to play with my Spectrum Noir pencils too. These are a must have. I just have the essential set  which is all you need to start with.

Project 3 was a bit more brayering/ brushing and using the gorgeous Blue tit stamp to make a lovely card. Got some really good tips on colouring in techniques here too.

IMAG0972

For our final project, Maria (in my opinion) had save the best till last. We were shown how to make our ink pads using  “cut and dry” stamp pad felt and re-inkers. Again endless possibilities with this one.

IMAG0968

It  has been a fab day, picked up a few (lots) of hints and tips, lots of laughs with new friends and old and spent a few pennies too, but why not? This has been a birthday treat from my daughter and one that I have thoroughly enjoyed.

If you see that Maria or any of the Clarity DT  are putting a workshop on near you, get yourself booked on, they are very reasonably priced for a day workshop . We were asked to bring along our basic crafting bits, but not to worry if we didn’t have anything, though I am sure some ladies actually brought their entire craft room, lol, All the card stock etc for each project was provided AND you got to choose one of the stamps used during the workshop to keep. Decisions, decisions, I choose the blue tit stamp.

IMAG0973If you would like to find out where Maria is holding workshops or if you would like to arrange for her to do a workshop in your area here is the a link to her blog where you will find contact details for her. Inkymits.blogspot.com

OK, that was birthday eve, now it is my birthday and my first job of the day is to make the cup cakes, yes, I am having to make my own birthday cakes, at least I get to choose which ones we  have which are raspberry and white chocolate with a little extra chocolate I think.

Now time to open my cards and wow, hand made cards from all my ladies this year (some chickened out last year lol) Their confidence in their own abilities definitely is growing and they are also developing their own styles, each very different which is great.IMAG0964This one is from Jackie, isn’t it lovely, simple and with bling (what have we done lol)

IMAG0965Diane has certainly learnt a few techniques now beautiful background layers and the rose…….

IMAG0969Lisa’s, with a gorgeous gelli print background and the shrink plastic bluebird, love it!

IMAG0967Wow a  Zentangled card, now you would think it was from my daughter, Jenna, but you would be wrong this card is from my mother who is getting rather hooked on Zentangle® too. My mother is 75 years old too which makes it even more impressive  don’t you think especially as the layers were hand drawn and cut.

IMAG0966This one is from Jenna, and you really need to click on this one to enlarge it to really appreciate the work in this. This small image does not do it justice. It is just amazing.

So thank you everyone for all your beautiful cards and birthday wishes, I have had a lovely birthday and I have saved the best till last,

Lisa, Jackie and Diane bought me a present too

IMAG0971

Thank you sooo much

 

Now I’m off to play (again)

I will catch up with what is happening in the craft room next week as due to holidays etc we are just finishing off work in progress for the next couple of weeks until everyone is back with us , and then I have some fun new projects lined up

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Lisa

    Friday was fabulous with the lovely Heather and Maria. I loved all the girl’s cards, amazing artwork from everyone. Love Jackie’s bling lol x x

  2. Belated birthday greetings and sounds as though you had a fun packed day and some lovely gifts. Just love the cards you received especially the beautifully Zentangled ones from your mum and daughter. I admire the work your mum put into her card, amazing work 🙂 x

  3. Hello Julie – wow – I cannot believe we were at the same workshop – my finished cards look a little different to yours – that is the only difference – I will have to put mine up on my blog. Glad you had a great birthday – hopefully Maria will be back Oct/Nov time and we will meet up again. Susan

    • Thanks Susan, would love to see your cards, I didn’t get to see many finished ones as it was a bit of a rush at the end to get packed up. I love seeing how individual styles come out even when we start off with the same stamps and materials etc, and yes will be there again if one in Oct/Nov.

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

