Compendium of Curiosities 3 – Challenge 4

The CC3 Challenge no 4 is to use the technique from page 48 49- layering Stencil Monoprint Texture paste

 

I am really enjoying this challenge, each fortnight a technique from the book is randomly selected  and you have to make a piece of artwork using that technique. The main rule being that you have to work from you own copy of the book (no sharing) and you cannot blog about how the technique is done. If you want to know more  or take part yourself  here is the link to Linda Ledbetters blog where you will find  all the rules and information including  details  of  some great prizes up for grabs from Tim & Mario and from  challenge sponsors Inspiration Emporium and  The Funkie Junkie Boutique

 

I seem to have a lot of friends with babies due around August time (I don’t know what was happening in November but there was certainly plenty of fireworks lol) and  needed to get cracking with a few new baby cards  which is probably why this card turned out the way it did.

I had a couple of practice attempts with the technique and noticed that the colours I was using would work really well  for a “baby girl” card.

IMAG0942

 

Have also just discovered Tim’s new Sizzix shadowpress debossing folders  and I never tire of making  roses using the Tattered floral die.

IMAG0943

The die cut words are from Tonic’s sentiments range. and if I had had more time I would have grunged them a bit, they look a bit too shiney and flat, but a part from that I am really pleased with it. Love this technique .

One down seven to go !!!

Ooops , I don’t believe I have just done this. luckily I  realised  something didn’t look right as i was scrolling down the other entries to get to the linky. Yes, I have just made my card using the wrong technique. Challenge no 4 is page 49 NOT 48. I won’t repeat the names I have just called myself lol.

But what is it they say – one learns from ones mistakes , well hopefully  I wont do that again. Good job I am needing a few cards .

 

CC£ Challenge no 4 attempt 2

Lets try a card for a boy this time.

I have 4 of Tim’s layering stencils so I tried the technique out on all of them to see which ones would work best for my card and ended up using three of them.

IMAG0949

 

The rulers worked really well for my bow (sizzix bigz die)

IMAG0951

 

The Teddy stamp, isn’t he gorgeous, is from Indigoblu  and crowned  with one of my plaster of paris embellishments  blinged with Treasure Gold.The words again are from Tonic.

IMAG0952

 

Well at least I am now prepared for any early arrivals

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. How cute! Love that you made cards for the entry, they are perfect for new bouncing babes…Thanks for playing along with the CC3 Challenge x

  2. I love this, Julie. You’ve inspired me for a baby card I need just now. Love the texture for a little boy, well done!

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

