Clarity Challenge 14 – Monochrome

For this challenge I was ready with a plan, As it was  Easter this month and had  bought the stamps at Harrogate. I was going to do an Easter  card.

I waited patiently for the April theme to be announced, Monochrome?, that’s okay, I can do that.

IMAG0723

Then I lost three weeks, there I was at the beginning of April happily having a play with my new acquisitions from the Harrogate Show, and the next thing I know  its Easter and I had totally forgotten to enter the challenge.

I know what happened,. A little four letter word happened, WORK, and then  I had promised we would redecorate the kitchen while I had a couple of days off over Easter.

So to plan B

While waiting for the paint dry in the kitchen I managed to have a bit of a play at an idea that had come into my head.

As I was painting I had been thinking (as you do ) about the monochrome theme and it brought up images of old sepia photographs. Now I have not done much with water colours, so I just got some watercolour paper and Vintage Photo distress ink and had a play with  techniques I have seen being done . My first attempt was literally just seeing what worked and what didn’t. Then a new piece of watercolour paper and considering I didn’t really know what I was doing

IMAG0748

As I am lucky enough to have lived by the seaside all my life , (when Barbara Gray put the offer on her blog  for the seaside stamps I just  had to have them). this was the scene that “just happened”

I am not known for doing simple cards, so this was really different for me . Just Vintage Photo Distress ink , water and a paint brush, and a distress marker pen (for the birds and boats) and no embellishments, lol. There is a lot of room for improvement but I really like how this card turned out and will definitely having another go  (when I get time)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Lovely, so much atmosphere. Thanks for entering the challenge and good luck.

  2. Amanda Branston

    Very relaxing! Lovely scene! Thank you for entering the Claritystamp Challenge, good luck! x

  3. Oh this is lovely Julie, and would look great framed and on a wall..I bet it brings holiday memories to most people….such great colour tones perfect for our challenge. Thank you for entering and good luck…Jo. X

  4. I really like this one! And a great reminder that summer is just around the corner….we hope! Good luck with the challenge and thanks for entering! xx

    • Lisa

      I’ve seen Julie’s entry in the flesh, it is fantastic X

  5. Julie this is a beautiful card, I really like your shading on the sea. Good luck with the challenge. x

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

