The Craft Barn’s Q&L Challenge no 6 – Flower and Travel

The  Q & L challenge  no 6 is Flower and/or Travel. If you would like to know more about the challenge here is the link to The Craft Barn’s Q&L Challenge blog

I really  thought I had this one sorted, I had found a lovely travel quote “Travel, first it makes you speechless then it turns you into a storyteller” and was going to keep it simple, honest.

Then, I  just had to have a little look at flower quotes and found the one  from the film Mulan, “Every flower blooms in its own time” .Simple the quote may be but my tag ended up anything but!

Starting with  the last of my tag backgrounds from a Tim Hollz style swooshing session with distress stains and pearlescent paint, my initial idea was to stamp and layer different flowers, some open and some still in bud. Then looking though my flower stamps to see what I could use, I found  Sheena Douglas’s bluebell stamp from her Floral fantasy range which I thought would go well against the background. Stamped them in archival black and just painted them with a little gloss medium coloured with perfect pearls.

IMAG0667

So far so good, but as bluebells grow in woods and dells I couldn’t just leave it at that, could I?

IMAG0668

Still not enough, I wanted layers so I got out my heat resistant acetate, stamped and embossed in black, then painted on the reverse with some blue acrylic (painting on the reverse means you don’t have to be accurate with the paint as the lines are on the other side)

IMAG0669

These were then cut out and along with some of paper flowers ( I made these a while ago when I was experimenting with die cuts and distress inks, the instructions are on my pintrest board) layered up onto my tag. I even managed to solve the problem of how and where to put my quote.

IMAG0670

I will keep it simple one day, maybe

IMAG0675

 

12 Comments

  1. twinkletoes2day

    Gorgeous! ‘Simply’ gorgeous!! Your paper flower board on pinterest is also wonderful :o)

  2. Beautiful bluebells and I love all the layers. That travel quote is good too!!

  3. I love the colors and the flowers. Great work!!!!!!! Bizz

  4. A gorgeous tag, great texture.

  5. I agree that this tag is ANYTHING but simple. It is purely stunning and jaw dropping gorgeous. Beautiful use of the quote and of course, I loved the flowers.

  6. Great tag and beautiful flowers!

  7. Debbie

    Oh my! You went from simple to magnificent!

  8. PLEASE don’t ever keep something simple if your creative soul wishes to play and express herself. Your Tag is an awesome piece of ArT and i think it is now spectacular 🙂 xxx

  9. Fabulous tag and quote love the bluebells, thank you for visiting me and leaving a lovely comment.
    MaggieH
    ps. your Zentangles are stunning!

  10. This is simply gorgeous, love all the layers and the way the flowers carry the quote. Love that travel quote too though 🙂

  11. Wow beautiful tag! A lot of work there! Great quote too! xx

  12. why keep it simple if complicated means stunning pieces of art like this one?

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

