Clarity Challenge 13 – Flower Power

Its Spring time at last (ok not officially till 21st) The sun has been shining,the daffodils are out, and I am full of ………..cold!, typical.

Just what I needed to help get me inspired for this month’s Clarity Challenge with the theme Flower Power.

I very rarely come down with a cold that is bad enough for me to take time off work but I did have to have 1 day off this time round, although I still managed the Paper craft Show at Harrogate on Sunday (It would had to have been at least Man flu fo miss that), so it was Tuesday before I felt really human again and start to think about what I could do for this month’s challenge.

Its Spring time , Mothers Day and Easter are fast approaching, surely there’s  a lot  of inspiration there somewhere. I was hoping to combine the challenge with mother’s Day and make a card for my Mum so I started to play around with the daffodil stamp I had ordered especially. Nothing was happening though, then I remembered that the NDC stamp had arrived that week end and its a beautiful  Edelweiss. Now something is  happening.

I found some cotton material and stamped onto  it with Archival ink and then coloured with distress pens, I even tried it with the daffodil stamp too. It actually worked rather well and as I wasn’t planning to use the material for anything that would need washing I wasn’t worried about it being colour-fast. And yes with a bit of fore thought I should have ironed the cotton first too, next time.

IMAG0648 IMAG0649

Now to complete my project, as that is what this had become (Mum’s card will have to wait)

The craft group that I run on Saturday mornings started just over 2 years ago now, thanks mainly to Lisa McGregor who wanted to learn the art of Kimekomi.  I still enjoy making Kimekomi balls  and just wanted to show that they are not just for Christmas.

IMAG0654

IMAG0653They are lovely for Easter too, and also make great wedding and christening gifts

I am  going to have to try Gelli printing onto fabric now too.

If anyone would like to have a go at Kimekomi I do have some basic instructions and templates on my Templates page to help you get started.

4 Comments

  1. Jane Telford

    Lovely project and so different! Thanks for entering the challenge and good luck to you! xx

  2. Amanda Branston

    Beautiful work Julie, they would be perfect for christmas! Good luck in the challenge! X

  3. Yvonne

    How lovely and unusual. Thank you so much for entering your project into the Clarity Challenge

  4. Lisa

    Looks fantastic Julie, the club stamp is the perfect size, the different coloured silk cord inbetween the sections really adds to the overall effect xx

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

