The Craft Barn’s Q&L Challenge no 5 – Art & Road

Its Q & L challenge time again and challenge no 5 is Art and/or Road. If you would like to know more about the challenge here is the link to The Craft Barn’s Q&L Challenge blog

Funny isn’t it? With challenge no 4 I struggled to find a quote I really liked.

I was obviously looking in a different place to everyone else, as I really liked the quotes submitted on the other  entries, only I never saw them where I was looking, never mind. This month I was spoilt for choice and the difficulty was in deciding which one to use. In the end I chose something a little different and which gave me the challenge of trying add a little fun to my tag.

The Quote I settled on was one I saw on Pintrest “Women leaving more to the imagination has become a dying art” It was only after I had typed up the words and printed them off that realized that I had not made a note of the author, and typically when I went back to look for it again, could not find it anywhere, so I will have to state that the author is anonymous, unless anyone else has seen it and can help me out?

I started with the background which I wanted to keep simple and  found an Art Deco style stencil in my stash that I was able to use with a pearlescent Adirondack paint dauber. It was a little too pale so I went over with black soot distress ink. For the floor I pinched Barbara Gray’s idea, from her one day at a time blog, using a black liner pen and also used a Clarity stamp for the chandelier.

IMAG0632

Then I made a couple of fans using Tonic’s ornate fan die and stuck white feathers to the back.

IMAG0633

I managed to find a stamp in stash of a lady that I could use, and then just assembled all the pieces

IMAG0634

Thank you for taking the time to look

15 Comments

  1. Scrapmate

    It’s a great quote and I love the lady with the fans. The chandelier looks super sparkly!

  2. Too cute!

  3. Great idea and I love the fans covering up the lady!!

  4. Debbie

    I had a harder time finding a quote for the last challenge, too, and almost too many for this one. Your tag is excellent!

  5. As I was reading through your process, I never imagined the end result. What a delightful way to illustrate this quote. The fans are the crowning glory of this tag. I truly enjoyed reading and seeing all the details, too.

  6. That’s amazing, such a beautiful idea.

  7. So beautiful!

  8. Fab tag! great setting, the fans are fantastically made, you say the chandelier is stamped what did you add to make it so sparkly?

    • Sorry forgot to mention that, It was embossed with WOW platinum sparkle embossing powder, worked a treat too, and thanks for leaving a comment muchly appreciated.

  9. Great quote and a beautiful tag – love the wings!

  10. BJ

    WOW – Stunning tag. BJ

  11. A beautiful tag with so many appealing elements together with a great quote which seems to be so true these days 🙂
    Lynn x

  12. Running late with all my commenting this month but here I am. Fabulous quote, wonderful tag I love those feather fans.

    Sylv xx

  13. Wonderful tag! Great quote and I love the fans you made! xx

  14. Just perfect and so elegant!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

