The Craft Barn’s Q & L Challenge 2014 – Strong and Miss

Its time for the 3rd Q & L challenge from the Craft Barn and the words we have been given  are STRONG and MISS

As it is February and Valentines I have decided to dedicate this one to all those whose loved ones are no longer here to share it with them.

The song I have chosen (and now can’t get out of my head) is an old favourite from my youth and one I hope a few of you at least will remember.

Honey (I miss you) sung by Bobby Goldsboro, was written by Bobby Russell and was a No1 Hit in both 1968 and 1975. As it was the lyrics that inspired my tag,  I thought I should share them with you too

IMAG0543

See the tree, how big it’s grown. But friend it hasn’t been too long , it wasn’t big. I laughed at her and she got mad, the first day that she planted it, was just a twig

Then the first snow came and she ran out to brush the snow away so it wouldn’t die. Came runnin’ in all excited, slipped and almost hurt herself, And I laughed till I cried

She was always young at heart, kinda dumb and kinda smart and I loved her so, And I surprised with a puppy, kept me up all Christmas Eve two years ago

And it would sure embarrass her, when I came in from workin’ late Cause I would know that she’d been sittin’ there and cryin’ over some sad and silly late, late show.

And honey I miss you, and I’m bein’ good, and I’d love to be with you if only I could

she wrecked the car and she was sad and so afraid that I’d be mad, But what the heck, though I pretended hard to be, Guess you could say she saw though me, and hugged my neck

 I came home unexpectedly, and caught her cryin’ needlessly,in the middle of the day

And it was in early spring, when flowers bloom and robins sing, she went away

IMAG0545

And honey I miss you, and I’m bein’ good, and I’d love to be with you if only I could

One day while I was not at home, while she was there and all alone, the angels came

IMAG0546

Now all I have is memories of Honey, and I wake up nights and call her name

Now my life’s an empty stage, where Honey lived and Honey played, and love grew up

And a small cloud passes overhead and cries down on the flower bed that Honey loved

IMAG0544

And see the tree how big its grown, but friend it hasn’t been to long, It wasn’t big

And I laughed at her and she got mad, the first day that she planted it, was just a twig

12 Comments

  1. Oh that brings back memories of watching Top of the Pops. I loved that song.

  2. Great memories of a beautiful song…..
    Fantastic Tag, so delicate and chic, it is exquisite 🙂 xxx

  3. Great song & tag

  4. Debbie

    This is truly beautiful–you captured the soul of the song! It always made me cry!

  5. Kiwi in Timbertown.
    Wonderful walk down memory lane. Lovely tag

  6. I’ve never heard that song, but it was certainly poignant, and quite sad. Your art was lovely, too. I thought the tree you created on the tag had a lot of meaning to the song, too.

  7. Lovely tag – very romantic!

  8. Fabulous tag, great lyrics choosen.

    Sylv xx

  9. A beautiful tag and song. There is so much detail on your tag – just love it.

  10. It’s amazing, a wonderful tag.

  11. Maisie Moonshine

    Beautiful , love those soft romantic colours. MMx

  12. Thoe lyrics bought back may memories. Oops doe that give my age away!!.Lovely tag Julie

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

