New Year, New Challenge – The Craft Barn’s Q & L Challenge

I was going through my emails the other week and one of them was a news letter from “The craft Barn” and what caught my eye was the mention of their new challenge for 2014.

The Quotes and Lyrics Challenge

Every fortnight they will give you 2 words and you have to use 1 or both of them in a quote or song lyric and incorporate it into your work. Your work being your journal, tag book, atc, card etc. Full details on how to participate are on their Challenge blog.

The first challenge ended on the 25th January and the words were Smile and Up. I was too late to enter this one but as  I had decided  to make a set of tags for this Challenge and I want to complete one for each fortnight if I can. So this one was just for me

IMAG0503

The background was created by using a sun stencil and texture paste which once dry I coated with gold acrylic paint. The stamp along the bottom was from Katselcraft and stamped onto gold pearl card. The words “Your smile lights up the world” was printed onto acetate ( I love doing my sentiments this way) and finished off with a few embellishments left over from the  word plaques we have been making in our Saturday crafty aftys (see previous posts).

I seem to have a sun theme going on (could be withdrawal symptoms as not seen it for a while) as I have managed to include it in my second tag too.

Challenge 2 in the Q & L Challenge.

The words this time were smile and Dazzle. I didn’t manage to get them both in the quote this time, but just loved the quote. (goes quite well with my work in accountancy lol) “If you can’t dazzle them with brilliance baffle them with bull”  W C Fields.

IMAG0509

I had a tag that had been left over from when we had been playing with some of Tim Holtz’s techniques using distress paints ( only we didn’t actually have any so used distress stains instead with Adirondack  pearlescent paint) Spritzed, swished and blotted.

I then used one of Tims layering stencils with embossing ink and silver embossing powder. Randomly stamped a word stamp and added my embellishments. Most the stamps were just magazine freebies, including the elephant which was the closest I could get to a bull (elephant). For the tags I painted over with some silver acrylic ink which I discovered in a well known Craft shop chain whose name escapes me at the moment. ( I am not good with names at the best of times but the end of January and late surge for filing tax returns has taken its toll)

Thank you for dropping by.

9 Comments

  1. Smiling at your second Tag because i love the sunglasses on the sun!!!

    Loving your Tag and quote, saw this and contemplated using it but changed my mind. Glad you have chosen this quote as it is a doozie 🙂 xxx

  2. Love both your tags! The suns rays in gold look great and I guess that’s a bull elephant on the bottom. Well done on joining in!!

  3. twinkletoes2day

    Visiting from the Craft Barn – Great tags, brilliant quotes both, but the acetate ‘clock’ is AWEsome! :o)

  4. Your tags are great and I the W C fields quote made me smile.

    • Thank you all for your kind comments, I have only recently started dabbling in mixed media and am finding it so much fun experimenting with all the different mediums and techniques. I love this challenge as it really lets you do anything you want. No restrictions to brand etc. You just have to find the right words…. Seeing all your amazing and original works of art too is great inspiration and educational too.

  5. Both of your tags are fantastic, great details.

  6. Great tags. I love the WC Fields quote – I almost used it myself.

  7. Lisa

    Even more fantastic when seen in the flesh this afternoon, brilliant x

  8. the smile tag is so sunny, also very neat that you managed to use both words in 1 quote.

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

