Classroom Catch up

Well this has been a really good start to my blog, with the intention of posting on a regular basis about what we are getting up to on our Saturday Crafty Afty sessions.

I think I may have lapsed slightly, but it is not my fault that the year has disappeared so quickly,

I am not going to bore you with everything we have done to date, but would just like to mention a couple of things we have started to do.

In August I introduced the Group to #Tim Holtz by way of his Tags of 2013 which I had discovered after starting to follow his blog and I  gave us the challenge of having a go at the August tag. This proved to be a bit more of a challenge than I thought as I read down the list of items required. Still we managed best we could with what we had to hand and had a thoroughly messy enjoyable afternoon, the results of which you can see below.

IMAG0164

Due to other commitments and workshops etc we ran out of time to do the September Tag, but am hoping we will fit the October tag in before the end of October .

Clarity Stamps and Barbara Gray is the other note worthy mention, actually there are 3 note worthy mentions. Number one is Lisa, one of my crafty afty ladies, and friend, finally plucked up the courage to entry the Clarity Challenge in August  which had the theme ‘animals’ with a shrink plastic bracelet and made the top 5. Well done Lisa

Lisa MacGregor

Lisa did try to persuade me to enter too, and  I was going to enter too, honest but my email got stuck in my send tray. (That will teach me to learn to use my blog). What It did do though was to give the confidence to have a go for the September challenge  which had the theme ‘vintage’

And  guess what I got a top 5 too, beginners luck maybe but it has at least given us both more confidence in our own abilities, and yes we are both going to have a go at the next one too

Julie Wheatman

and last but not least I just had to mention Gelli plates

Yes I am now the proud owner of a Gelli plate, ok it is only the 6×6 but you have to start at the beginning and work your way up. It is so much fun playing and I am learning so much. I did not realize there were so many different types of acrylic paint for a start, I used to just think acrylics were for artists. There thick thin, pearlised, metallics even glittered ones. and then there are the stencils and stamps and the list is endless.

The best way is just shut yourself in a room with your gelli and paints etc and just play. Sometimes it will work, sometimes it wont, sometimes you will surprise yourself, but ALL the time you will have fun, just give it a go. Here are a few samples of what I managed at my first attempt.

IMAG0171

Thats it for now, there is so much I have not mentioned but these were the highlights, I am now in the process of doing Tim Holtz Creative Chemistry 101 course, which is brilliant as recommended by Kirsty Goodall , thank you Kirsty.

202 course and post to follow.

1 Comment

  1. Lisa

    Thanks for the mention and very well done to you. I love our crafty aftys x

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

