January in the craft room

My first crafting blog,

Its February I Know, but we started back in the craft room in January so I thought we had better start at the beginning and go through what we have being doing so far.

This year I thought that we would start off by going back to basics and cover some of the techniques that seem to be fun to start with then as we move on get forgotten. So we started with iris folding and everyone seems to have enjoyed it so much that it is now February and we only now moving on to the next technique next week – Quilling.

But lets start with the iris folding. The technique of which although very simple gives some stunning results. We have used patterns from books and found some interesting patterns on google search and on craftsuprint

I have set up a pinterest account too now, so I can showcase not only my own designs but also those of my craft room students, who by the way range from a card making newbie through experienced to been there done that and forgotten most of it.

This shoe design below is my own design and it turned out so well I just had to show it (and there will be a downloadable  pattern template for it on the Templates page once I get the hang of having a blog). as you can see I have also used Spellbinders dies to make the card. I love spellbinders.

shoe iris foldingSAM_0307

The dress is a free pattern I found on an internet search and the butterfly is from craftuprint. Hopefully by my next post will have sorted the links outbutterfly iris folded

5 Comments

  1. Cathi

    Is the template for the shoe available? My daughter is a shoe fanatic and I would love to do this for her. Thanks!

    • Hi Cathi,
      Thank you for your interest, A PDF of the pattern is now on my template page for you to download.
      I did this for my daughter too in pink and black, She loved it too.

  2. Tina

    Hi!
    I’m Tina from Germany. I saw your nice shoe. I will do one for my mum and I would ask you how do you do that?
    (sorry for my bad english.. :-/ )
    Thanks for reply. 🙂

    Greetings
    Tina

    • Hi Tina,
      I think your english is a lot better than my German.
      Have you seen my template for the shoe? It is a PDF file on the template page on my blog
      It gives you the pattern, basic instructions and tips on how to make the shoe. Any problems just get back to me and I will email you a copy.
      Let me know how you get on

      Julie

  3. cec

    Hi,
    I can found your pattern for the shoes !!
    Can you email a copy please
    thanks

Leave a Reply

Dreams Factory

Handmade & DIY with chic touches

Ina's Tangles

Zentangle patterns, artwork and more

Stephanie Weightman

Gaze the Moon - Dream the Dream

The Craft Barn

Whats happening in the craft room.

Visible Image

Whats happening in the craft room.

Oak House Studio

Whats happening in the craft room.

Make ART Challenge Blog

Whats happening in the craft room.

Finnabair

Whats happening in the craft room.

Astrid's Artistic Efforts

Whats happening in the craft room.

Eileen's Crafty Zone

Whats happening in the craft room.

Dye, Pigment & Paper

Ruminations from VSN's editor . . .

Cards, Cats and Coffee

Whats happening in the craft room.

JR Crafts

Whats happening in the craft room.

PaperArtsy

Whats happening in the craft room.

Inkymits and Tasty Bits

Whats happening in the craft room.

Neelz Expressionz

Whats happening in the craft room.

Studio 490

Whats happening in the craft room.

